Northeastern recognizes top graduating scholars

Northeastern Junior College is honored to announce the scholarships and academic awards received by 2019 graduates who will be continuing their education at the next level. During the recent commencement exercises held on campus, more than 40 awards were announced.

May 20, 2019
Northeastern Charles F. Poole Award winners 2019
Left to right: Abigail Davidson and Jordan Matthews. Abigail also received the Elsie Minnie Good Memorial Scholarship.

Receiving the Charles F. Poole Award – a commencement award given to graduates who are scholastic class leaders, have attended Northeastern continuously and contributed to campus activities – were Abigail Davidson, Associate of Science and Jordan Matthews, Associate of Science both of Sterling, Colo.

Northeastern Armilda W. Dowis Award winner 2019
Leigha Terry, not pictures Annaliese Werner.

Receiving the Armilda W. Dowis Award – a commencement award given to outstanding graduates in an occupational program – were Annaliese Werner of Merino, Colo., Associate of General Studies and Leigha Terry of Julesburg, Colo., Associate of Applied Science - Nursing.

The $1,500 Elsie Minnie Good Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded to Logan County residents recognizing the academic standing and accomplishments of talented students from all major divisions of the college, went to Abigail Davidson, who plans to transfer to Regis University.

Northeastern Debbie Paison Scholarship winner 2019
Brynn Abernathy

The $1,500 Debbie Paison Scholarship, which is awarded to a women graduate who displays scholar and leadership abilities and plans to transfer to a four-year institution, went to Brynn Abernathy, who plans to transfer to Colorado State University.

Northeastern Thomas L. Porter Memorial Scholarship winner 2019
Lance Chapdelaine

The Thomas L. Porter Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a graduate from the five-county region of Northeast Colorado (Logan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Yuma or Washington) who is transferring to Colorado State University - went to Lance Chapdelaine of Haxtun, Colo.

Northeastern Keith Propst Memorial Agricutlrue Scholarhsip 2019
Modesta Everett

The Keith Propst Memorial Agriculture Scholarship – awarded to an agriculture education graduate, who maintained a 3.5 GPA and who demonstrated leadership, integrity and community involvement transferring to Colorado State University, went to Modesta Everett of Salida, Colo.

Other additional scholarships awarded are as follows:

Brynn Abernathy, Colorado State University; Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship and Debbie Paison Memorial Scholarship.

Nathan Batt, Doane University; Board of Trustee’s Scholarship, Men’s Basketball Scholarship, Hansen Leadership Scholarship, Diversity & Inclusiveness Scholarship and Visit Grant.

Jean Carre, Regis University - Denver; Transfer Student Scholarship.

Abigail Davidson, Regis University; Transfer Scholarship and Regis Grant.

Corbin Geisendorff, University of Texas at Tyler; Baseball Scholarship.

Kacey Jaeger, University of Northwestern Ohio; Volleyball Scholarship.

Peyton Kloberdanz, University of Wyoming; Doug & Deniz Stark Ag Scholarship.

Baily Kreider, Chadron State College; Community College Scholarship.

Abby Mussman, University of Northern Colorado; Northern Colorado Resident Transfer Presidential Scholarship.

Sophie Pajevic, Morgan State University - Baltimore, Maryland; Volleyball Scholarship.

Amanda Platt, University of Northern Colorado; Transfer Academic Achievement Scholarship.

Jacqueline Ramirez, Colorado State University - Fort Collins; Partnership Award and Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship.

Jessica Salazar, York College - Nebraska; Golf Scholarship and Academic Scholarship.

Sydney Wright, Fort Hays State University; Fort Hays State University Transfer Scholarship.

Additional awards may have occurred since the May 17 commencement ceremony.

View All News Submit a Story