Northeastern Junior College staff recognized for years of service

2021 and 2020 milestone employees honored at all staff in-service.

By CALLIE JONES | | Sterling Journal-Advocate
August 26, 2021 at 11:34 a.m.

August 26, 2021
NJC Staff recognized for years of service

Forty-one Northeastern Junior College faculty and staff members were recognized by President Jay Lee at the college’s fall in-service last week. Employees achieving milestone years of service for both 2021 and 2020 were honored.

Representing a combined 360 years of service, awardees for fall 2021 include Lyle Rose, structural trades III, and Mike Anderson, chair of the agriculture department, who have given 35 and 30 years of service respectively.

The 25-year service award recipients were Stephanie Weatherill, English instructor, David Coles, chemistry/astronomy instructor, Leslie Rosa, library technician III, Melissa Bornhoft, assistant director of Monahan Learning Center, and Tami Patten, technology systems analyst.

Marking 20 years with NJC are Donna Brady-Lawler, early childhood education program coordinator, Brad Coats, electrical trades II, and Martha Gareis, director of purchasing.

Award winners for 15-years of service are Dale Brekel, custodian I, Eddie Trenkle, men’s basketball head coach, and David Huss, women’s basketball head coach.

Denise Dennington-Calkins, assistant athletic director of game manager/ student advisor, Jannifer Brandenburg, nursing instructor, Jason Hazlett, director of renewable energy, and Jeri Garrett, math instructor, have all given 10 years of service to NJC

Lastly, honored for five years of service were Emily Barkey, agriculture business management instructor, Brant Davis, residence hall director, Mike Dillinger, IT technician, Andrew Kachel, head baseball coach, Julie Rhodes, science specialist, Samantha Roberts, assistant human resources director, Jimmy Romero, custodian I, Leslie Weinsheim, director of institutional research, planning and development, Sharon Shino, administrative assistant II; and Jeri Estrada, human resources director.

Fall 2020 honorees represent a combined 165 years of service and at the top of that list is Brenda Zink, chair of the science, technology, engineering and math department, with 25 years at NJC.

Award winners for 20-years of service include Steve Smith, vice president of student services, Larry Pollart, animal science instructor, and Diane Reuszer, English instructor.

Justina McCracken, biology instructor, was recognized for 15 years at NJC and Vernon Harbart, head golf coach, and Julie Rhine, director of the cosmetology program, have been at the college for 10 years.

Finally, 5-year honorees include Martha Conner, cosmetology instructor, Sarah Stone-Robinson, international student coordinator, Cory Gaines, physics instructor, Kodi Johnson, director of student success, equity and inclusion, Rachelle Davis, lead developmental math, Will Ross, art instructor, Cyndi Hofmeister, grant writer, and Deb Stump, anatomy and physiology/biology instructor.

View All News Submit a Story