Monahan Library Code of Conduct

Library users are expected to observe other patrons' rights, to treat library staff with courtesy and respect, and to use the library for its intended purpose. A library patron may be asked to leave the library if he/she is acting in such a manner that:

  • disrupts other library users and/or library operations,
  • endangers or threatens anyone's safety or health,
  • violates the state's or the college's computer use policies, or
  • violates any local, state or federal law.

Circulation Policies

Loan Periods

  • Books check out for four weeks.
  • VHS and DVD videos check out for two days except for weekends and holidays.
  • Sound recordings and audio books check out for four weeks.
  • Periodicals, reference, and most reserve materials must be used in the library.
  • Students will not be required to fill out a form to register for a computer logon as the accounts are automatically created as part of the registration process. Students are still expected to abide by the computer use policies and procedures.
  • Community patrons will be allowed to research using computers designated for library research, but will not be able to have an individual logon account. 

Ask at the circulation desk to apply for a Colorado Library Card, reserve materials, videos, interlibrary loan requests, headphones and ethernet cords. Check out and return library materials and receive directions to various areas in the library at the circulation desk.

Checkout Procedures

  • Community patrons must be at least 16 years of age and must present a Colorado picture ID with a local address and a second item with proof of the same address in order to be issued a borrowing card.
  • A current NJC/Colorado Library Card is required in order to check out materials.
  • A patron must present his/her current NJC borrower's card in order to check out materials. It is NOT permissible to use a spouse's card or a card belonging to any other person.  
  • A $5.00 replacement fee will be assessed to community patrons who lose their library cards.
  • Library materials must be checked out five minutes prior to closing. 

Renewals

  • NJC library materials may be renewed if they are not already overdue or on hold for another patron. Contact the circulation desk with items needing to be renewed. Renewals can also be made by calling the circulation desk at 970-521-6612. Please renew your items before they become overdue.

Fines

  • $1.00 per day will be charged for overdue DVD's, videos and interlibrary loan materials and headphones.  A non-refundable processing fee will be imposed for each item that is 40 days overdue in the amounts of $5.00 for books (print and audio) and CDs, and 20.00 for all videos - DVD and VHS. headphones and interlibrary loan items.
  • If patrons have outstanding fines or overdue materials, additional items cannot be checked out until materials are returned and fines are paid.
  • Registration and transcript holds will be placed on students' records when materials become 40 days overdue. Transcripts are held for patrons who have returned outstanding items but still owe $10.00 or more. 
  • Patrons will be billed for lost items when materials are 40 days overdue. A bill for lost or damaged items reflects the cost of the material plus a $20.00 material processing charge for each item.